21 August 2013

BFG Series Not A Round Robin Tournament

It looks like the Bound for Glory Series, unlike last year, is not a round robin tournament, in which every competitor wrestles the other competitors once.  At least, this is what a TNA staff member indicated to me on Twitter last week.  Personally, I think it's a mistake to implement an uneven schedule in a tournament that will ultimately determine the next challenger for the TNA World Heavyweight Champion.  If this is the case, I'm curious to know how the schedule was determined simply because its format essentially gives some wrestlers an unfair advantage over others.  I suppose only time will tell but I hope I'm wrong.  More to come...

UPDATE: According to David Lagana, the wrestlers in the BFG Series "will have an even number of matches and opportunities for the same points".  He did, however, claim that TNA never presented this year's series as a round robin tournament, which is true.

No comments:

Post a Comment